Thursday, July 12, 2012

Running

I went to the gym today for what seems like the first time in forever. I used to belong to a great gym. Huge facilities, awesome classes (that were always full of people) and affordable child care. Today, I went on a 3 month trial (through a fundraiser) to a gym literally a stones throw away. I could should have walked there.

The facilities were nice. Newer equipment. But it felt like there wasn't any air in the room. Ok, so it also rained like crazy and this Arizona girl isn't used to the humidity, but still. Sticky was an understatement. The rates aren't too bad normally. But the childcare is going to cost me more than the membership itself. Gah! And now I remember why I quit going before. Plus, there aren't any kids there anyway. The last gym had TONS of children all the time.

Anyway... regardless of what the gym was like, I was really only there for one reason and one reason only.

Treadmills.

I have a great spin cycle right in my living room, so I can spin anytime I want. I have a Kinect I plan on using for a few fitness games. I have a few sets of hand weights. I am set. But I hate to run. Seriously.

These are seriously my thoughts:



But you know what? I ran anyway.

It took me way too long... but I did it.

Time: 42:45
Distance: 2.16 miles
Average Speed 3.03 mph
Average Pace 19:46/mile

It will be interesting to see how that changes over time!

I am using a couch to 13.1 plan I found on Fitness.com. I was supposed to start on Monday with cardio and Tuesday/Wednesday/Thursday run, Friday rest, etc. But I started today. So we will just do this week as scheduled and then repeat it for next week. We'll see how well I get before my 3 months is over. I doubt I want to renew for a real membership at the gym. But by then, it might be cool enough to run outside.

Overall, feeling good. I am down a few lbs, but will weigh in on Tuesday. :)


No comments:

Post a Comment